Related Posts with Thumbnails

Friday, March 23, 2018

Welcome Us to Snowbird Community


It only taken us one vacation to Florida to finally decide to become one of the snowbirds. Children are learning at home and we can go anywhere and they can still do their learning, and DH have no work in winter months. Don't get me wrong, we love the changing season but since we can't do anything on the snow but slide, skis, plow & snow, snow mobile etc., it gets old after awhile. My family needed a change, and this is it.

We are in the process of buying a camper, because RV can't get to the land we bought down in Florida. There is no road, and needed a 4x4 to make to the area. And since we can't get there with just 2 wheel drive, we also must buy some toys (ATV & such) to get our children occupy the whole 2 & half to 3 months stay there. We also needed a generator to keep our food last longer. There is no power or phone lines either. We will be off the grid the whole time. However, we do have unlimited data (internet) on our cell phones and we can still watch Netflix and check emails.

Yes, this is going to be costly but it will be the same if we bought a house and lot. No one will occupy the said house on the majority of months we are not there. At least with a camper, we can tow it back to our house and use it if we decide to go on summer vacation somewhere in the north part of the country.

In July we are going down there to canvass on where to put our septic and well. Our camper can only hold so much of anything so, we still need those amenities. I grew up off the grid, I don't know how my family will handled this new adventure we are going to do. My idea is, if for any reason that we are not happy, that we are more stress about the whole thing, we can always go home to our snow bound first home. Trials and errors.

I think this will do some good to our children to travel, and stay away from what they are used to. Make new friends and learn new things. Well, DH and I are hoping.

0 comments:

Life of Ours Viewers

Life of Ours Author


Mrs. Cheers, Keystone USA

"I'm a Research Associate in the field of Child Development and Human Relations. I have a continuing program of research (What mother doesn't?) in the laboratory and in the field (normally I would have said indoors and out). I'm working for my Masters, (the whole darned family) and already have five credits (four sons & one daughter, 1 joined the working community, 4 are being educated @ home ). Of course, the job is one of the most demanding in the humanities (any mother care to disagree?), and I often work 14 hours a day (24 is more like it). But the job is more challenging than most run-of-the-mill careers, and the rewards are more of a satisfaction than just money."


©2008-2019 recheers.blogspot.com.™ Contact: recheers@nedekcircheers.com

Life of Ours Feedjit